The Future is in the future

14. Forest of Memory – Mary Robinette Kowal

“What is dead may never die” is not a line from this book but it does sum up dealing in nostalgia for me. In this novella, the reader is presented with the unedited (she’s typing it using a typewriter, which I do wish I had the finger strength to use myself – can’t hit those keys right at the same speed I can on a computer, damn it) perspective of Katya, who deals in “authenticities,” i.e. objects from the past that people in this version of the future collect, when her AI goes down and she’s left with nothing but reality and what’s right in front of her in the wilderness. And also some guy doing a mysterious job that she cannot research using her AI. Ha. Trapped. This was an odd story, and many of the concepts in it could benefit from further exploration because it did end rather abruptly with many unanswered questions. My main takeaway was one of recognizing my mortality again. I like things, I’m isolated, in this future someone is totally going to loot my living space and make a lot of money I will never have. Whee! Future!

Peregrine says you should get some objects for people to steal with her on them from this store, which is only online and not a brick and mortar place, but deals in nostalgia nonetheless:  Choose wisely.

Peregrine says you should get some objects for people to steal in the future with her on them from this store, which is only online and not a brick and mortar place, but deals in nostalgia nonetheless: Choose wisely.

Leave a comment

Filed under Books, Review, Writing

Comments are closed.