Oh, Daisy, I’m so sorry. How did it happen? …He walked.

43. Witch’s Sister – Phyllis Reynolds Naylor

The first in the series. Mrs. Tuggle is freaking terrifying. She’s manipulative, she has a funny name but she is not a nice, amusing, pleasant elderly lady…she’s like the elderly neighbor from Spaced if she really had been cooking Colin (I mean, Lancelot) ala Fatal Attraction instead of whatever she was doing with a stuffed rabbit on the stove – I’ve never used the stove-boiling option for cleaning the pigs’ stuffed animals, I stick with the washer and dryer, was she sterilizing? Dogs are involved, I barely understand them because they’re not misunderstood fuzzy things that don’t make me sneeze originally from South America. Anyhoo, Phyllis Reynolds Naylor has a serious gift for creating disturbing images and situations and making some shit tense for child readers. So very tense. Someday I suspect I will locate Witch Water, The Witch Herself, and The Witch Returns and finish reading the series and end up just as scared as I did when I read The Witch’s Eye as a kid.

Belvedere’s best “standing on a pumpkin” photo. Thankfully, Mrs. Tuggle and her creeptastic attempts at manipulation will never reach his adorable little head. He was only ever loyal to me anyway, that witch would never have gotten to him.

Belvedere’s best “standing on a pumpkin” photo. Thankfully, Mrs. Tuggle and her creeptastic attempts at manipulation will never reach his adorable little head. He was only ever loyal to me anyway, that witch would never have gotten to him.

Leave a comment

Filed under Books, Review

Comments are closed.