Trapped in Paradise without Nicolas Cage.

62. The Changeling – Joy Williams

If anyone walks up to you in a bar and tells you they’re taking you to their island – don’t go. Even if they offer you cheese logs or to validate your stated love of clowns (Ahh!). You will end up drinking yourself into a stupor by the pool every day while children play around you and then have weird daydreams about stone rooms and wooden animals. It will be confusing.

I did not know what I was getting into with this book – there was no dust jacket to tell me that it’s not actually the novel version of that movie with George C. Scott. No dust jacket! I could have been warned! I still don’t really know what I think about the whole thing. Too many big bad wolves and syrupy delusions. Side note, my research into the George C. Scott version let me know there is no novelization of the film because the script is based on the screenwriter’s personal experience, which is unfortunate.

Thaddeus cannot be coaxed out by cheese logs. Also, he will not be drinking by your pool or becoming anyone’s de facto drunk babysitter. Ever.

Thaddeus cannot be coaxed out by cheese logs. Also, he will not be drinking by your pool or becoming anyone’s de facto drunk babysitter. Ever.

Leave a comment

Filed under Books, Review

Comments are closed.