Punch a higher floor

  1. Forever – Maggie Stiefvater

This is the first entry in what I have declared “The Year of the Ladies.” All my reviews in 2015 will be for books written by women, in honor of my last year’s reading experiment to try to read more books written by women than men. I read about 30 more books by women than I did by men and considering that I am not the most voracious of readers and that most of the books I read were written with adults as their intended audience I’m quite pleased with that result. I found out that I don’t like the work of one horror author I was told I would enjoy and a new series that I really do like from someone in a pretty bestselling writing group – I’m being so vague, just a preview of things I will surely mention in future posts.

For now, I’m starting with a blast from the relatively recent past. The Wolves of Mercy Falls trilogy has some of the best book design I’ve seen in ages (the first edition hardbacks anyway) – the cut paper, the color choices, the interior ink color choices, it’s a seriously well put together package. I would have read it just because of the design, even if I hadn’t been aware it was about werewolves, and I probably would have enjoyed it about the same amount. I’m not much for romance and Sam and Grace and the poetry and longing glances and the maudlin language they share were never very intriguing or satisfying for me as a reader; probably because I’m a cynical and bitter adult and not a teenager wistfully lusting after the possibility that someone will write a song for me and then turn me into a supernatural creature. So! I was very happy when the last installment in the trilogy included a lot more from some of the more acidic characters, Cole and Isabel. For me it was a pretty fitting end to the story, the action was finally moving at a better clip, and I really enjoyed the descriptions of the wilderness.

Side note – I recently picked up Sinner, the “villain” perspective book from this series (Beautiful Creatures has Dangerous Creatures, so far these are the only two villain or “dark side to the love story that mostly annoyed me” perspectives on established series that I’ve seen) and as I finished Forever in 2011, I’m looking forward to seeing more from the cranky Cole St. Clair.

Murderface, scratching that itch to be the first lady pig to be featured in my year of the ladies. The Queen always comes first, so first she is.

Murderface, scratching that itch to be the first lady pig to be featured in my year of the ladies. The Queen always comes first, so first she is.

Leave a comment

Filed under Books, Review

Comments are closed.