At the Mountains of Merricat

  1. The Basement Office – Evelyn Sabbag

Whenever contemplating winning the lottery, one of the first things I think about is always how I would set up my studio – my brightly lit, above ground studio. After reading The Basement Office, I know that staying above ground is a good idea for a few reasons. Several furry and scaly ones and psychological ones too. I almost wondered if, by deciding to set up his happy-time home office in his basement, Alan was asking to be psychologically isolated and ruin basically every aspect of his life. Relationship with wife – ruined! Relationship with work colleagues and friends – ruined! Relationship with Gandalf the excellently named cat – probably also ruined (Gandalf’s perspective isn’t fully explored)! Relationship with alcohol – blossoming… Sabbag does a great job of balancing the aspects of the basement-related disturbance that could be Alan-madness and the ones that are just a man trying to self-destruct right when he seems to have gotten what he wanted and should be on his way to living a bit of a dream life. It’s a reminder that even if I get my imaginary-studio, I could just use it to drive myself nutballs. Although having read this, I now know I could also hire a ferret to help me out with that. In the meantime, I have Merricat.

You want someone to fight off the monsters in the basement? Merricat’s your girl.

You want someone to fight off the monsters in the basement? Merricat’s your girl.

Here she is fighting a spider. It looks like it’s not going her way, but note her calm demeanor.

Here she is fighting a spider. It looks like it’s not going her way, but note her calm demeanor.

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Books, Review, Writing

Comments are closed.