I knew from the first moment I saw you that you were dangerous to her.

32. The Fog – Caroline B. Cooney

As I may have previously mentioned, I am worried about the upcoming election, which is tomorrow and if anyone (regardless of opinion) who is reading this happens to be a U.S. citizen (I’ve noticed I have several UK & Indian readers – Hi! Tasty curries for everyone!) – fucking vote, it’s your one real job as a person who lives here if you’re eighteen or over. The amount of political commercials I have had to endure as a result of living in a swing state may have put me one step closer to madness. And since I am a lady who likes her civil rights and wishes to see civil rights be expanded for others, the heroine of The Fog’s name put me right off: Christina Romney. Now, there’s one particular Christina I am not remotely fond of and there’s a Romney that’s topical that I do not like either…it was hard for me to put that aside. And when the antagonists of the novel kept accusing Miss Romney of lying, well, if they weren’t so damn obviously evil I would have been on their side, damn it.

The thing is, this novel contains many incidents of false paranoia and hysteria accusations that feel very topical. I too would likely jump off a roof in a bad Nor’easter if I was tired of being told I was nutballs and anti-social enough times and then cut off from my family on the island. The “islanders,” as someone might say, go to school on the mainland from seventh grade on and stay with evil people pretending to be nice, they have hair that’s not as nice as they think it is and brightly colored clothes. The mainland kids typically react to the island kids like they’re crazy hillbillies, unless they’re super cute like senior Anya (the description of her reminded me of the Anya that was on Project Runway and could barely sew, but still won, thanks to some semi-conspicuous decisions…thanks, Lifetime) who slowly starts going crazy and losing her mind but does not learn to sew.

There were a lot of incidents of hysterical lady-accusations for the protagonist and confusing motivations. And the protagonist girl with the unfortunate name is only in seventh grade! Being accused of being nutballs is totally unnecessary for seventh graders, they don’t even know who they are and could react with total impetuousness just like the protagonist does on several occasions. She could have just shouted that she felt like she was taking crazy pills and the evil people she’s living with would have been all like, “But we’ve provided non-crazy pills for you, you should take those, they’ve been on your desk all along. We told your parents that you’re going insane and only we can help you. Oh, and we threw away those beans your mother made you. You’ll never see them again. Why aren’t you happy?”

The Fog is part of a trilogy. I have to find The Snow and The Fire in order to find out what will happen to the poor, gaslighted unfortunately named protagonist.

Pickles is shocked about T-Dog. Murderface silently accepts the impending doom and The Walking Dead’s vicious brutality. Sometimes horrible things happen, it’s best to be prepared and listen to the predictions of Joss Whedon.

 

Joss Whedon on Mittens

Leave a comment

Filed under Books, Review

Comments are closed.