Hey, Tina, hey hey Tina!

13. Feed – Mira Grant

As I have mentioned before, I like reading about ladies who know things. The lead character of Feed, Georgia Mason, is definitely a lady who knows things about blogging, about how servers and websites work, and who can wield firearms and sunglasses simultaneously. She is definitely an impressive character. She does have a totally creepy relationship with her brother though. Do they really prefer to sleep in the same bed? Really?

I also think I read this book at the wrong time. Reading about newspeople following a political campaign after living in Iowa during several election years and kinda still watching The Killing regularly is like hitting yourself in the face and asking yourself to quit hitting yourself while listening to a recording on your answering machine of yet another ridiculous political message – convoluted, yes, but also basically an accurate depiction. Politics can be very not fun. And I’ve found that the more informed I am about what’s going on in my country politically, the worse I feel about the possibilities. Some people don’t want anyone like me to have a future because I’m a lady and I’m educated (but not in business, man, not in business) and I don’t care about religion. I care about respecting other humans more than I care about money or religiousness, even though I don’t want to care because I abhor working with the general public. Anyhoo, the political campaigns in Feed seem to be just as ludicrous as those in real life and that shit just got too real at times.

Also, I got tired of the jargon and the specifics of blogging. Sometimes when people do research on their topics, it’s easily integrated. Sometimes it’s not. In this case, it’s usually relevant information but that doesn’t make it any less boring for me to read. I read Moby Dick, I skimmed a tad of the whaling descriptions. This book calls for the same treatment if you aren’t completely interested in electronics, servers, and people being on their computers and capturing footage and uploading and whatnot. I usually look forward to the zombie apocalypse because I dislike the sheer amount of technology required to be a normal human these days. I’ve got a tape player in my car and I like it that way. I wish I could go back to having a landline and a handset heavy enough to kill someone with. Telling someone to “pick up the phone” has a lot more meaning with a handset (Andy D has been stuck in my head for days, damnit, Tina!) I had a rotary phone in college (well, it was my housemate’s, but I had access and was totally unable to “push one for English” when using it).

Baby Duncan does not have to vote or experience the zombie apocalypse and the apparently inevitable rise of the bloggers – she could start a zombie apocalypse, a small, furry one, and I would be glad to see her.

1 Comment

Filed under Books, Review

One response to “Hey, Tina, hey hey Tina!

  1. Pingback: The name’s Pammy! | Guinea Pigs and Books