That I do, Sir.

7. Buffy Season Eight: Retreat – Jane Espenson, Joss Whedon, Georges Jeanty…

I don’t think I’m liking this eighth season deal. Now that May is unofficial vampire month here, I might as well deal with the confusing mass that is Buffy: Season Eight. At least in a couple of volumes. So I read graphic novels sometimes, usually only when they’ve made it to trade paperback collections because I don’t like to wait and I’ve never really been a Wednesday person. Buffy and Spaced are my two favorite television shows of all time. Sometimes Metalocalypse makes its way out of my mouth (obviously) when asked about my favorite shows too, but if we’re talking live-action it’s Buffy and Spaced at the top of Favoritism Mountain. Any continuation of Buffy is something I’m interested in (or Angel) but there’s something extremely off-putting about this series of comics. Maybe it’s the gigantic change in format, maybe it’s that some of what happened throughout the volumes would have been reserved for separate seasons if it were still a tv show and really that just goes back to change of format, maybe it’s my inability to remember what happens in these for more than an hour after I read them…but it’s not as much fun for me. I feel like I’m reading a Syfy Channel imitation movie of Buffy where now she can do absolutely fucking anything. Anything. And everyone’s come up against wacky new creatures who need no explanation whatsoever or context – Thricewise? If it’s a comic and we’re not restricted to a one hour broadcast time perhaps providing lots of context is possible. Maybe it’s possible! I should read the collections again but my first impressions of each volume lean mainly toward “annoyed” in retrospect. Perhaps some completely frozen CGI birds would help.

Retreat continued the disjointedness by removing some magic and presenting Oz, his wife, and baby and then some attempts at meditation and other happinesses. I’m still confused about parts of it and sometimes I find the idea that one could attain a totally clear head and be at peace irritating. Right now, in the middle of this stressful journey away from the enemy, they can clear their heads? Really? It’s just beyond my threshold of suspension of disbelief, behind the grazing pony and those frozen CGI birds.

Baby Belvedere has become the chosen one of his family – he did not use that positioning to mar the legacy of any late 90s television shows with extraordinarily random plotting or peacefulness.

Leave a comment

Filed under Books, Review

Comments are closed.