Live long and prosper – might have to work on the first part

52. Night of the Living Trekkies – Kevin David Anderson & Sam Stall

This is the only book I’ve read that involves Star Trek. I’ve seen two of the movies and that’s it. They were both Picard movies, I feel that bears mentioning. I have seen zero episodes of the show the whole way through. Yet, I know some names, I’ve heard of Tribbles and their similarities to guinea pigs (Really?), I recognize the differences between the eras of the show’s uniforms, so I’m not completely ignorant of the concepts. I knew what a red shirt was before I read this book. Also, that Futurama episode about it was really good. Anyway, there’s a line of thinking that books that are too entrenched in a particular culture might not be enjoyable if they’re read by people who don’t subscribe, i.e. I have not seen much of Star Trek so I won’t like this book because I won’t “get it.” I run into this a lot in critiques of my own writing because in writing workshops, the goal sometimes seems to be making stories that can be understood by anyone, anytime, anywhere whereas in the actual writing universe that rarely seems to truly matter. The key is making your story good enough that the references bring some people closer to your characters and that the readers who don’t get the joke still find something out about the character, the relevance of the reference should be justified at least briefly. You can judge me on that if you like, Night of the Squirrels: Dawn of the Interns (Can anyone catch those really super blatant references? No? Okay.) is available via Amazon in the Kindle store. I’ve found some infuriating typos in my manuscript since formatting it for the Kindle, I am now one of those people who knows their mistakes are in the hands of others…not comforting.

Back to the Trekkies. I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It was excellent. The story was funny, the characters were followable and pretty well defined for an action story, and I can tell that although I did not get most of the actual Star Trek jokes, they were carefully crafted with love. It was a fun journey and as I have gone to one incident of Wizard World, I did recognize some of the archetypes – that chick who is just there to have her picture taken with nerds for money, the guy who fabricates weapons, and the employees who have to deal with everyone (this book had a particularly nice twist on that). Not knowing much of anything about Star Trek made absolutely no difference while reading it. Also, the zombie on the cover totally looks like Stephen Colbert, nice touch. He’s a Lord of the Rings nerd publicly…but is he a Trekkie too?

Come, Pickles, the nerds are distracted. No one will notice when we take over the world... Murderface is such a Brain, look at that stance.

Leave a comment

Filed under Books, Dawn of the Interns, Review, Writing

Comments are closed.