Happy Happy Joy Joy

16. Going Bovine – Libba Bray

Libba Bray became an author that I will always be on the lookout for because of this book. I was excited to read her newest work, I think I might try her Gemma Doyle trilogy, but this is the best of the best of what a young adult book can be. The protagonist is a boy with Mad Cow disease (of course she uses the real, hard to spell name….Creutzfeldt-Jacob) who goes on a fantastical journey and finds unlikely allies like Baldur in the form of a lawn gnome (I have always had a complicated relationship with lawn gnomes but I was fond of this one), ridiculous conflict, and there’s a cult. I liked how things turned out with the cult. There’s so much to like about this book that it’s one of the few that I recommend to every patron looking for something “funny” because regardless of whether or not they like some of the wackier elements, it’s next to impossible not to be touched by the story as a whole.

Mad pig disease? I don’t think that exists.

Leave a comment

Filed under Books, Review

Comments are closed.