Why isn’t anybody being eaten?

57. Handling the Undead – John Ajvide Lindqvist

 

The cover of this book makes it look like it’s a zombie story. And it is, sort of, but they never quite get to the eating anyone part…or the anything is happening part.

I’m obviously not writing these on the dates that they are listed under and currently the reason for that is that my darling Pickles passed away on October 15th. Her bladder stones finally got her while I was trying the last possible treatment to give her a longer life. However, I’m going to say on the internet is that Pickles is eternal. She is the most glorious guinea pig in the history of existence. Sorry, all other guinea pigs including my own, but it’s just the wacky, possibly deranged truth. Pickles Pickles Pickles. It’s a lot like “Bloody Mary” or “Candyman” or “Biggie Smalls” that one time on South Park, only you’d be really lucky if she showed up to see you.  Like luckier than you’ve ever been before.

Anyway, this is the first book that I finished after she passed and it deals with people’s loved ones returning to life and not eating them. In fact they just sort of hang around all creepy like and then get agitated because of our thoughts. There were two important things I found while reading this book: 1. It made us as not-dead people responsible for our own zombie apocalypse because we have thoughts, way to shift the blame, John. 2. It let me know that even if my currently deceased pigs came back all wonky-style and tried to steal my thoughts, I would still be happy to see them.

There she is, lunging for her first cilantro stem with her little parents.

Leave a comment

Filed under Books, Review

Comments are closed.