Once you realize what a joke everything is…

So I’ve been absent for a few months or so from this little project. I’ve still been reading things and sharing my opinion via real life but things got in the way of sharing them via this online area. The most pertinent of those things has been the overwhelming spectre of death shadowing me and my little friends. So I will share the most apt song lyrics (well, really they’d be more apt if they said “pigs [maybe even ‘piglets’] who died” so if you want, say that in your head) and cute pictures because that’s what I think is the most relevant way to re-start writing book reviews and sharing my guinea pigs with the world:

Jim Carroll – “People Who Died” from Catholic Boy:

 

Teddy sniffing glue, he was twelve years old

Fell from the roof on east two-nine

Cathy was eleven when she pulled the plug

On twenty-six reds and a bottle of wine

Bobby got leukemia, fourteen years old

He looked like sixty-five when he died

He was a friend of mine

He died of old age style complications, despite being relatively young.

Mortemer. Father of Pickles, Duncan, and Belvedere.

Those are people who died, died

They were all my friends, and they died

 

G-berg and Georgie let their gimmicks go rotten

So they died of hepatitis in upper Manhattan

Sly in Vietnam took a bullet in the head

Bobby OD’d on Drano on the night that he was wed

They were two more friends of mine

Two more friends that died

Murderface. Frequently glaring mother of Pickles, Duncan, and Belvedere.

Those are people who died, died

They were all my friends, and they died

 

Mary took a dry dive from a hotel room

Bobby hung himself from a cell in the tombs

Judy jumped in front of a subway train

Eddie got slit in the jugular vein

And Eddie, I miss you more than all the others

And I salute you brother

Pickles, deity.

Those are people who died, died

They were all my friends, and they died

 

Herbie pushed Tony from the Boys’ Club roof

Tony thought that his rage was just some goof

But Herbie sure gave Tony some bitchen proof

“Hey,” Herbie said, “Tony, can you fly?”

But Tony couldn’t fly, Tony died

Twiglet, wonky-footed darling. Daughter of Pammy.

Those are people who died, died

They were all my friends, and they died

 

Brian got busted on a narco rap

He beat the rap by rattin’ on some bikers

He said, “Hey, I know it’s dangerous, but it sure beats Riker’s”

But the next day he got offed by the very same bikers

 

Those are people who died, died

They were all my friends, and they died

Duncan didn't like anyone except for her parents, Mortemer and Murderface. A girl after my own heart.

Teddy sniffing glue, he was 12 years old

Fell from the roof on East Two-nine

Cathy was 11 when she pulled the plug

On 26 reds and a bottle of wine

Bobby got leukemia, 14 years old

He looked like 65 when he died

He was a friend of mine

Murderface, Mortemer, and their children. Duncan is being squished on the top right, then there's Pickles, and little Belvedere sticking out his foot. Hopefully he will never die.

Those are people who died, died

They were all my friends, and they died

G-berg and Georgie let their gimmicks go rotten

So they died of hepatitis in upper Manhattan

Sly in Vietnam took a bullet in the head

Bobby OD’d on Drano on the night that he was wed

They were two more friends of mine

I miss ‘em, they died

It's super hard to tell which one is Twiglet and which one is her mother Pammy. I'm actually not sure myself.

Those are people who died, died

They were all my friends, and they died

Mary took a dry dive from a hotel room

Bobby hung himself from a cell in the tombs

Judy jumped in front of a subway train

Eddie got slit in the jugular vein

And Eddie, I miss you more than all the others

This song is for you my brother.

Those are people who died, died

They were all my friends, and they died

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments are closed.