Hill House, not sane…

36. The Haunting of Hill House – Shirley Jackson

Prior to reading Hill House I’d only read a couple of Shirley Jackson’s short stories and so I was aware that she was a stellar writer in terms of mood. The main thing that presented itself to me while reading Hill House was how awesome she is at creating multiple types of fully realized characters and using the right one (no matter how mildly irritating their viewpoint might be) to tell the story. I could easily picture Eleanor and Theo and to be honest reading the banter the characters shared while sitting in the labyrinth of Hill House reminded me of how disconnected people are in the now time. I mean, really, is it too much to put down a phone for two hours? To not stare at your phone while say, walking up a steep flight of stairs or wandering into a crowded area? And if someone who is constantly staring at their phone wanders into a crowded area I don’t think it’s too much for me to wish that they trip over the outer ledge of a fountain and fall in, thus drowning their phone and forcing them to engage with the world around them…

Anyway, Theo’s banter abilities made Eleanor wish she could participate more fully in the group and in the world that she’d missed out on so far….this of course drove her insane and she made some very bad, very delusional decisions…but still, being witty used to be one of the highest compliments, now the world is a sadly monotone place in many respects and very few people value conversational communication that sparks the imagination in person. I prefer it that way. But of course I’ve never been too fond of connecting with people. There are just so many lawns I wish people weren’t standing on.

 

As Pammy & Twiglet stare into their ghostly reflections they are certainly wondering why they haven’t seen the original movie version instead of the one where Owen Wilson’s head gets cut off for no reason…although Catherine Zeta Jones was totally the right Theo.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Books, Review

Comments are closed.