Rosemary’s Baby

12. Rosemary’s Baby – Ira Levin

My 70s horror kick continues with Rosemary’s Baby. I’ve read Ira Levin before, The Stepford Wives, and really enjoyed that. I also happen to adore that film and it currently reminds me of the hideous Republican agenda – oh, you don’t need Planned Parenthood or to make your own choices or public broadcasting and really, do public employees deserve the right to negotiate anything, can’t we just right out budget crisis with their wages since they’re so busy wasting their money on easily chosen luxuries like abortions and food and shelter while they listen to that extravagant Car Talk and watch such garbage as Sesame Street and Masterpiece Theatre. Either way, the idea that someone else is making choices about what women get to do with their bodies is a theme for Levin. Rosemary’s Baby pretty perfectly expresses my fears of other people controlling my reproductive organs and various herbs. I’ve never been a fan of rosemary or tarragon…so I probably would not enjoy the scent of tannis or Minnie’s milkshakes. Thankfully, I won’t have to deal with any of that wacky Satanism. Satan really seemed to have a hold on the 70s, at least in the books that I’m reading.

Is Pickles plotting the birth of the antichrist? Or is she just hiding in a pillowcase? The world may never know.

Leave a comment

Filed under Books, Review

Comments are closed.